Time Travel

I was thinking about Quantum Leap this morning.  Quantum Leap is one of the best tv shows that was ever created.  And I was thinking of the famous intro, “to put back what once went wrong.”  And that line reminded me a decision that has been going over and over in my mind.  If I could go back to myself when I was 16 years old and let her know what the future was going to be like–would I tell her to keep fighting?  Or would I tell her the truth.  Would I tell her that each day would be a fight to survive.  Would I tell her that she would not have any romantic relationships at all.  Would I tell her that the one man who was in love with her, could not declare his love because I did not meet his physical ideal of perfection.  Would I tell her that by standing up for herself, she would loose her family and have to survive on her own.  Would I give myself this knowledge of the future to allow myself more informed decision making?  Or would I allow the same thing to happen twice?  In Quantum Leap, Sam tried to change the future for his brother who was going to die in Vietnam.  He was not able to save his brothers life; he still died. 

So would I tell myself about the future?  I don’t know.

Athena

2 thoughts on “Time Travel

  1. Tamara says:

    I wonder what your 16-year-old self would have decided?

    It may be the optimist in me, or maybe the realist, but I always tell myself that I couldn’t have done anything differently, that I was doing the best I could at the time. I don’t know if it makes you feel any better to think this way. The past is in the past, the future is in the future, and all we can control is what we’re doing right now. Which doesn’t mean we don’t have to deal with our feelings about the past – only that we need to forgive the past (ourselves and everyone else) in order to live in the present. I don’t know if this makes any sense.

    It also helps me sometimes to reread Wordsworth’s Intimations of Immortality.

    Thinking of you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

